Area mines win safety awards

Staff Report

October 29, 2013

The Department for Natural Resources presented 12 Safest Mine Awards at the Kentucky Coal Association’s annual meeting in Lexington on Oct. 25.

Each of the six Office of Mine Safety and Licensing (OMSL) Districts nominated an underground operation and a surface operation based on outstanding safety records throughout the year and beyond.

“Our mine safety analysts and inspectors have made mine safety a priority and the results are evident by these outcomes,” said OMSL Director Franklin Reed. “Mine safety begins with each individual miner, mine foreman and operator. We can continue these excellent results across all mines if everyone pays attention and practices mine safety.”

This year’s winners by district are shown below, along with number of employees, annual coal production and number of lost time accidents in 2012:

Barbourville District:

* Underground: Bell County Coal Corporation, Garmeada No. 2 mine, 64 miners produced 216,955 tons of coal with one lost time accident.

* Surface: ICG Hazard, LLC Hazard Division, Thunder Ridge-Job 0122, 72 employees produced 551,557 tons of coal with no lost time accidents.

Harlan District:

* Underground: Harlan Cumberland Coal Company LLC, K3 mine, 23 miners produced 86,588 tons of coal with no lost time accidents.