Bell’s Morris makes junior All-Star team

Staff report

April 17, 2014

Bell County standout Maci Morris is among the 18 players named to the Kentucky Junior All-Star girls’ team, which was announced on Wednesday.

The team will represent Kentucky in games against junior teams from Indiana on June 6 in Indianapolis and June 7 in Lexington.

Morris, who has committed to the University of Kentucky, is considered on of the nation’s top 50 players in the Class of 2015. The 6-0 guard will also enter next season as one of the favorites for Kentucky’s Miss Basketball Award.

The junior games take place one week before the senior Kentucky All-Stars meet the Indiana All-Stars in the traditional rivalry between the two states.

The senior games take place June 13 at Transylvania’s Beck Center and June 14 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

The junior rosters were assembled after tryouts that included more than 50 boys’ and 50 girls’ players.

“To make this team is quite an accomplishment,” said Terry Johnson, executive director of the Bluegrass Sports Commission. “The talent level at tryouts was extraordinary and I applaud the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches for their hard work in putting these teams together.”

The rosters for Kentucky’s senior All-Star teams were announced on Thursday.

Those teams will be led by 2014 Mr. and Miss Basketball Award winners Quentin Snider and Ivy Brown who will wear the iconic #1 jersey in the games. The Indiana boys all-stars are headlined by University of Kentucky signee and Indiana’s Mr. Basketball, Trey Lyles.

Former Corbin coach Jennifer Parsons is the head coach of the Kentucky Senior girls’ team.

Here are the complete rosters for the Kentucky All-Star teams:

Junior Girls

Alyssa Barnard, Marshall Co.

Alexis Brewer, LaRue Co.

Reauna Cleaver, Elizabethtown

Haley Sue Foutch, Ashland

Logan Fraley, Boyd Co.

Emily Frye, Lewis Co.

J’Nayah Hall, Apollo

Denayia Holmes, University Heights

Darien Huff, Elizabethtown

Nora Kiesler, Assumption

Maci Morris, Bell Co.

Alexis Robinson, Ashland

Ge’Naisha Robinson, Christian Co.

Asia Sims, Bourbon Co.

Sandra Skinner, Geroge Rogers Clark

Alexis Switzer, Boone Co.

Morgan Turner, Meade Co.

Kacie Wallace, Henderson Co.

Head Coach: Robbie Graham, Clark Co.

Asst. Coach: Troy Thomas, Bath Co.

Junior Boys

Jermiah Bell, Butler

James (Bettle) Bolden, Holmes

Elijay Cowherd, Bardstown

Terrell Gray, Doss

Evan Hall, Knott Co. Central

Aric Holman, Owensboro

DJ Jenkins, Harrison Co.

Camron Justice, Knott Co. Central

Jaqualis Matlock, Hopkinsville

Drew McDonald, Newport Central Catholic

Justin Miller, Owensboro

Hunter Noffsinger, Muhlenberg Co.

Jalen Perry, Ballard

Matt Rose Lexngton Christian

David Simmons, Henderson Co.

Ray Spaudling, Trinity (Lou.)

Dwayne Sutton, DuPont Manuel

Jeremiah Tisdale, Henry Clay

Head Coach: Tim Haworth, Hopkinsville

Asst. Coach: Anthony Babb, Hopkinsville

— — —

Senior Boys

Quentin Snyder (Mr. Basketball), Ballard

Christian Cunningham, Cordia

Jackson Davis, Lafayette

Tra Edwards, Hopkinsville

Jordan Green, Henry Clay

Christian Hudson, Hazard

Justin Johnson, Perry Co. Central

Kelen Martin, Ballard

Chris McGraw, Western

Chris Porter-Bunton, Warren Central

Nick Ruthsatz, Covington Catholic

Keon Williams, John Hardin

Head Coach: Chris O’Hearn, Mason Co.

Asst. Coach: James Haire, Elizabethtown)

Asst. Coach: Brad Cox, Mason County)

Senior Girls

Ivy Brown (Miss Basketball), LaRue Co.

McKenzie Cann, Anderson Co.

Danielle Lawrence, Butler

Javonna Layfield, Ballard

Eriel McKee, Anderson Co.

Essence Gray, Danville

Jamie Castle, McGoffin Co.

Abby Owings, Simon Kenton

Raven Merriweather, Sacred Heart

BrookeTodd, Paul L. Dunbar

Sarah Cooley, Lafayette

Shalika Smith, Glasgow

Head Coach: Jennifer Parsons, Corbin

Asst. Coach: Scott Sivillis, Calloway Co.

Asst. Coach: Christy Clark, Butler Co.