Last updated: August 13. 2014 2:36PM - 830 Views
By - manders@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The results are in from the Aug. 7 election, and Claiborne County will see just a few new faces.

Overall turnout was good, according to Claiborne County Election Administrator Carolyn O’Dell, with early voting bringing in a great number of voters.

“During early voting we had a really good, heavy and steady turnout,” she said. “Over 7,991 people voted in this election and over 4,400 votes were cast during early voting.”

“Approximately 54 percent of the turnout was early voters, which is a trend that is growing as more voters take advantage of it,” she added.

The larger county-wide races saw only one upset. Incumbent candidate for Circuit Court Clerk, Billy Ray Cheek Jr., was unseated by challenger Jackie Hurst Rosenbalm. Cheek had been appointed by the Claiborne County Commission to fill the seat of his father, who retired.

Rosenbalm received 3,882 votes, Cheek received 2,207 and Carolyn K. Ousley received 1,518.

In the hotly contested race for Sheriff, incumbent David Ray received 4,146 votes while his challenger Brent Clark received 3,571 votes.

“I’m just so thankful to the people who reelected me for the next four years,” Ray said. “I’m pleased for the employees in the department; we will continue to provide the best professional law enforcement we can provide.”

“I wish the best to all of those elected and look forward to working with them,” he added.

“To those who were not successful in their campaigns, I appreciate them as well,” he said. “It takes a lot of courage to put yourself up for election and sometimes timing means a lot. I have been defeated and I have won — it feels good to win.”

The County Mayor’s office will not see a change. Current County Mayor Jack Daniels defeated his challengers with 2,864 votes. His closest challenger was Dennis Cook, who received 1,984 votes. Rick Poore received 801, Mike Sharp received 744, Nathan Epperson received 604, Richard Smith received 428 and Casey Anders received 363.

“I want to thank all the people of Claiborne County; I greatly appreciate each and every one who helped support me,” said Daniels. “To the other candidates, thank you for running a race with integrity and kindness.

“I’m very thankful and will always try to be a helping hand,” he added.

Incumbent County Trustee Alice Alexander received 4,395 votes to stay in office, while her challenger David Painter received 3,167 votes.

Each district in the county saw a race for commissioners.

In the 1st District, the top three vote-getters will be seated on the commission. Two of the incumbent commissioners were unseated.

Whitt Shuford received 469 votes, Zachary Bunch received 443, Charlton Vass received 380, incumbent and longtime commissioner Bill Brooks received 374, Joseph (Joe) Brooks received 324, Clifford Bunch received 287; incumbent Barry Thomas received 240, Rodney Fugate received 234 and Dean Neal received 206.

In the 2nd District, the top three vote-getters will be seated on the commission. One of the incumbent commissioners was unseated.

Juanita Honeycutt received 591 votes, Bill Keck, 529; Gary Poore, 469; Pat Shelley, 446; incumbent Jerry Arnwine, 414; Brownlow Sweet, 304.

In the 3rd District, the top three will be seated on the commission. There will be one new face representing that district.

Otis “Mike” Campbell received 545 votes, Ann Bowling, 483, Nicholas Epperson, 459, Kevin McAnally, 429; Michael Tuten, 275; Bruce Myers, 269.

In the 4th District, the top two will be seated. One incumbent was unseated.

Dennis Estes received 481 votes, Anthony Rowe, 474; WM (Shade) Epperson, 252; incumbent Hugh Singleton, 216; Richard Bailey, 156.

Incumbent Mitchell Cosby ran unopposed in the 5th District. He received 394 votes.

In the 6th District, the top three vote-getters are seated on the commission. One new face will represent that district.

Steve Mason received 454 votes, Joan Cosby, 397; Billy Johnson, 361; incumbent Rosemary Barnett, 352.

The 7th District has three seats on the commission, and all three current commissioners ran without opposition so they will remain in office.

Shawn E. Peters received 516 votes; Aimee R. Upton, 454; Danny L. Longworth, 397.

In the 8th District, both commissioners will remain seated as they were unopposed. William Jessie received 530 votes while David Mundy received 499.

James S. Hatmaker ran in the 9th District unopposed. He received 111 votes and will remain on the commission.

In contested Claiborne County Board of Education races, two incumbents were upset.

In the 2nd District, Micheal Jo Gray defeated incumbent Bill Turner with 632 votes while Turner received 430 votes. Candidate David Banks received 168 votes.

Third District incumbent Tim Duncan was unseated in a very close race by Neta K. Munsey. Munsey received 564 votes to Duncan’s 559.

The race was very close in the 5th District as well. Incumbent Michelle Huddleston decided not to run for office again. Linda Fultz will take that seat with 412 votes while Alice Brooks received 402.

In the race for the Tennessee House 35th District, Republican incumbent Dennis “Coach” Roach was unseated by Jerry Sexton with a vote of 4,825 to 3,812. There was no Democratic challenger.

In the 8th Judicial District, several races were contested and three incumbents were defeated. All three had been appointed to fill empty seats.

In the race for Chancellor, Elizabeth C. Asbury received 15,587 votes while Andy Tillman received 13,341. Gov. Bill Haslam appointed Tillman to the position after the death of Chancellor Billy Joe White.

In the District Attorney General race, incumbent Lori Phillips-Jones received 11,900 votes and was defeated by Jared Effler, who received 17,962 votes. Phillips-Jones was appointed to the position after the retirement of longtime District Attorney General Paul Phillips.

In the District Public Defender race, incumbent Mark Eric Blakley was narrowly defeated by challenger Leif Jeffers. Jeffers received 13,503 votes to Blakley’s 13,452.

Results for the 8th Senatorial District, State Executive Committeeman are: Republican Primary, Hobart L. Rice unopposed with 16,556 votes. Democratic Primary, Bill Fannon received 2,667 votes and John K. Sonnen received 1,046 votes.

Results for the 8th Senatorial District, State Executive Committeewoman are: Republican Primary, Betty Fain, 9,093 votes and Jennifer Inman Little, 8,571 votes. In the Democratic Primary, Lindsey Cole Cadle received 2,482 votes while Vonda Mallicoat Laughlin received 1,326.

All of the election results are unofficial until certified by the Election Commission. According to state law, the certification must be done by the third Monday following the election.

Marisa Anders may be reached at 423-626-3222 or on Twitter @newsgirl88.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Middlesboro Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com