Last updated: April 12. 2014 12:53AM - 372 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

DALLAS, Texas — Lincoln Memorial University head men’s basketball coach Josh Schertz has been named the 2014 Red Auerbach Coach of the Year, the Jewish Coaches Association (JCA) announced during a ceremony at the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Final Four this past weekend.

Schertz beat out The College of Idaho’s Scott Garson and Southern Methodist University’s Larry Brown for the prestigious award, given annually to the nation’s top Jewish college coach and named in honor of NBA Hall of Fame coach Red Auerbach, winner of nine NBA championships with the Boston Celtics from 1957-1966.

Under Schertz’s guidance, the Railsplitters continued their South Atlantic Conference reign during the 2013-14 season, capturing the league’s regular season and tournament championships despite losing four of the top six scorers from the 2012-13 SAC championship squad. It was the program’s third regular season and second tournament title in a four-year stretch. Additionally, Lincoln Memorial broke the SAC single-season record for wins (28) and winning percentage (90.3 percent), posting the program’s fourth-consecutive 25-win season.

The Railsplitters extended several other significant streaks in 2013-14. The Schertz-led Railsplitters made their fourth-straight NCAA Tournament appearance, while advancing to the semifinals of the NCAA Southeast Regional for the third-consecutive season. Lincoln Memorial also bulged its South Atlantic Conference record of consecutive weeks ranked in the NABC/Division II Coaches poll to 58-straight weeks, which stands as the third-longest active streak and the ninth longest in the 53-year history of the poll.

When Schertz arrived in Harrogate for the 2008-09 season, he inherited a program that had compiled a 33-77 mark in the four previous seasons. Since the 2010-11 campaign, the Railsplitters’ propulsion into the national spotlight has come full circle as Lincoln Memorial has racked up 106 wins with only 18 losses, the winningest four-year stretch in South Atlantic Conference history.

Schertz nabbed the Red Auerbach Coach of the Year award on his second go-around as a finalist as he also earned that distinction at the conclusion of the 2012-13 season. Additionally, the Florida Atlantic University graduate is a three-time Clarence Gaines Division II Coach of the Year finalist (2010-11, 2012-13, 2013-14) and a two-time South Atlantic Conference Coach of the Year (2010-11, 2013-14).

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Middlesboro Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com